Peace Day

On the International Day of Peace, one cannot but ponder the fact that “Peace” means different things to different people.

I have often been asked what does peace education look like from the inside? Is it just talking about good values and cooperation? Is it teaching one to be proactive about taking a stance? Is it shedding unnecessary judgments and ideas? Is it all of the above?

Here is one viewpoint that comes close to my understanding: “Peace is not something you wish for; It’s something you make, Something you do, Something you are, And something you give away.” (Robert Fulghum, sourced here.) 

That makes sense to me because peace really is an interplay of skills and attitudes, something you do and something you are, that can be learnt and nurtured through sustained practices.

While I ponder the many facets of this work I wonder what other interpretations I may have ignored. So I want to take this day to bring together all perspectives of the what, why and how of peace education as seen by others, on this platform by inviting posts on this topic. So lets talk Peace, starting today!!!

One thought on “Peace Day

  1. I mentioned International Day of Peace on my FB status this morning, and as I typed the word peace, it was not things outside myself that I visiualised. It was a deep inner silence. I could sense its possibility but not where I could reach and touch and be in it–a disquieting feeling in itself.
    In Indian traditions, transformation of society begins with transformation of self. You can see this in the way peace work is structured and carried out by many spiritual-social organisations in India.
    So today, if you ask me what peace means, I will say: silence. Inner silence.

Leave a Reply

